Lost Garden

Cheesy Nacho Spinach Chips

Chips are my weakness.

Chips vs. Chocolate?
The majority of the time, I’d pick chips. (Though I do enjoy some good dark chocolate!)

Unfortunately chip are kind of lacking in the nutrition department 😦
So I am left to try and find healthier alternatives that can substitute my chips, at least sometimes.

These hit the spot! Even raw is great, and also more nutritious. (And faster, if you’re super impatient with food, like me…)

Cheesy Nacho Spinach Chips
Measurements will depend on personal taste and amount of spinach.

Bunch of clean, dry spinach (With stems removed)
Oil (Olive, Grape Seed, ect.)
Chili Powder
Cumin
Garlic Powder
Nutritional Yeast
Pinch of Salt and Pepper

1. Pre-heat oven to 350Β°F.
2. Add spinach to a large bowl. A large bowl is better so the fairly delicate spinach leaves have space to mix. Add enough oil to lightly coat the spinach, don’t drench it. Mix spinach gently, scooping around the sides of the bowl.
3. Add seasoning, gradually while mixing. (For seasoning I used about even amounts of garlic powder, cumin, and chili powder, more nutritional yeast, and a little salt and pepper .)
4. Lay one layer of spinach on a parchment paper lined baking sheet. You don’t want to have spinach overlapping or it won’t dry out evenly.
5. Bake for 10 – 12 minutes. You’ll probably want to check on them at about 8-10 minutes, and after that keep an eye on them until they’re crispy!

This bake time is based on baby spinach, if you’re spinach is bigger it will likely take more time. Also, if using baby spinach, you probably want to pick the bigger baby leaves, since they will shrink when baked.

Hope you find them as tasty as I do!

This entry was published on March 6, 2012 at 5:19 pm. It’s filed under Food, Snack and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

43 thoughts on “Cheesy Nacho Spinach Chips

  1. Mmmm, I will have to make these! I love kale chips; these look similar.

  2. Perfect! I’ve got spinach going off in the kitchen, and a bit of nutritional yeast left- these will be made now!

  3. I’m definitely going to try these! I love making kale/chard chips but our supermarkets around here don’t carry them reliably so this seems like an easy swap.

  4. chips over chocolate? I think I’d have to go the other way, but these look amazing! what a good idea.

  5. Penny on said:

    What is nutritional yeast and do I have to use it? I have everything except for that.

  6. Pingback: Weekend Wellness Roundup « Lovely Healthy

  7. These look fab. I like to use an oil mister when doing kale chips its a lot less oily once they are cooked. Never thought of spinach though great idea I wonder how they will be without the yeast I have none right now :(. Maybe some parm cheese would be good.

  8. Pingback: St. Patrick’s Day Healthy Treats | OCEAN Style l fashion.lifestyle.luxury.fun

  9. Laurel on said:

    Do they keep well? Or are there never enough left over to test the theory?!

  10. Kathy on said:

    Are these the kind of thing that has to be eaten after being made? Or will it keep in container for a day?

    • I imagine if they were sufficiently dried when cooked that they would last a day in an airtight container, however there have never been any left for me to test this out.

  11. How crunchy are these?

    • They are crispy, and then sort of melt in your mouth. They don’t keep as well s kale chips though. If you’re looking for a lot crunch I’d use this recipe with kale rather than spinach.

  12. Hi there!

    I’m an Associate Editor for the Taste and Food sections of The Huffington Post.

    We’re doing a roundup of veggie chips, and would love to feature yours! We will include a photo from your blog, and a link to your recipe, but not the recipe itself. Please let me know if this is okay with you!

    Best,

    Madeleine

  13. I have a dehydrator I think I’m going to try this in that.

  14. I just made these! They were super tasty and hit the potato chip spot! Paper thin and super delicate

  15. Could I replace the oil with vinegar for a “salt-and-vinegary” type of chip?

  16. Kellie on said:

    I know this is an old blog entry but we loved these! Even the dog loved them! Lol! I didn’t have any nutritional yeast but did have little Romano cheese packets from Olive Garden so I figured I would try that. They were fabulous! My boys kept asking for more! πŸ™‚

  17. I’m excited to try this, especially the nutritional yeast. This is the first recipe I’ve seen it in, & I love trying new ingredients.

  18. Teresa on said:

    Think I will try these now!

  19. Actually, the nutritional value in spinach goes up when cooked, not down. If you are trying to boost your iron intake, then this works great because the iron is better in spinach once it is cooked.

  20. Kristen on said:

    Mine don’t look like yours. They’re completely flattening out and getting stuck to the baking sheet. I didn’t use parchment paper. Could that be it?

    • Oh no worries, they’ll flatten out for sure! That last picture is the finished product, an it’s just a pile of flat chips.

      The parchment paper is pretty important. Unless you have some sort of super awesome no-stick pan you’ll surely encounter sticking issues. I hope you were able to enjoy them anyway!

Leave a comment